Graphic/Web Design Blog


A great resource for web and graphic design for beginner and advanced designers. Learn about Adobe Software, XHTML, CSS and PHP coding, Design Jargon and other resources to help you.

Is it spam? Snapbot/1.0

Lately I have been receiving hits by a robot named Snapbot/1.o. In my referral logs it refers to itself as

ROBOT
with ip: 38.98.19.67 and user agent: Mozilla/5.0 (SnapPreviewBot) Gecko/20061206 Firefox/1.5.0.9

or as

SPAM
with ip: 38.98.19.68 and user agent: Snapbot/1.0 (Snap Shots, +http://www.snap.com)

If you check out snap’s website, they state that the robot is used to show thumbnails of your site to users that have their browser plug-in installed. In addition, frequent hits could also be their robot snapbot/1.o indexing your site for future thumb views.

So if you are receiving traffic from ip address range: 38.98.19.66 to 38.98.19.126 they are from snap.com and appear harmless.

del.icio.us Reddit Slashdot Digg Facebook Technorati Google StumbleUpon Windows Live Furl Netscape Yahoo BlinkList Bloglines Ask Newsvine Spurl Squidoo Fark Blogmarks Jeqq Sphere

Tags: , , ,


One Response to “Is it spam? Snapbot/1.0”

  1. butterflower Says:

    wordpress has this snap view on/off option. when u hover ur cursor over a link a small window pop up and show the preview of the website. as far as i know it is harmless. maybe useful too. people can see the preview of ur site and if it looks interesting enough they’ll click and wallah… a visitor!

Leave a Reply