Graphic/Web Design Blog


A great resource for web and graphic design for beginner and advanced designers. Learn about Adobe Software, XHTML, CSS and PHP coding, Design Jargon and other resources to help you.

Is it spam? InternetSeer.

I get about 5-10 hits per day from a robot named

InternetSeer
with ip address: 65.36.241.79 and user agent: InternetSeer.com

This robot monitors the uptime of your website and emails you if it is down or slow. But how did it get my email? Internetseer like many other web monitoring sites receive their sites through third party sites.

I am sure they started monitoring when I signed up my site at a submit your site to 100 search engines site.

Regardless, this robot does not harm your site and removing it may cause an annoying abundance of emails telling you they cannot access your site. I tried blocking the ip address once and it came back 1 month later with a new ip address.

You can usually contact internetseer.com or any other web monitoring site and they will tell you how they obtained your site and how to unsubscribe.

del.icio.us Reddit Slashdot Digg Facebook Technorati Google StumbleUpon Windows Live Furl Netscape Yahoo BlinkList Bloglines Ask Newsvine Spurl Squidoo Fark Blogmarks Jeqq Sphere

Tags: , , ,


One Response to “Is it spam? InternetSeer.”

  1. C Brito Says:

    Friends,

    In April 14, the InternetSeer company debited US$ 29.99 to my MasterCard Card, to “blast” our site to 300,000 searches engines.

    We have an Apen University (with 16 high-level MBA, not Degree, only DMA Diploma). To test and to recommend the InternetSeer service in our one year course MBA of Internet Marketing & e-Commence, we signed for the above service.

    Until now (more than one month), we do not received any instruction or information from that company, even after seven e-mails asking any information about.

    Now, we are almost convinced that this InternetSeer are a scammer, and before to send our e-mails to all the anti-scams lists and to MasterCard to cancel his account, I have few questions:

    1. This company exists?
    2. This company is a scammer?
    3. Who is the owner of this company?
    4. Who have bad business experience with this company?

    Best regards,
    C Brito

Leave a Reply