Graphic/Web Design Blog


A great resource for web and graphic design for beginner and advanced designers. Learn about Adobe Software, XHTML, CSS and PHP coding, Design Jargon and other resources to help you.

Posts Tagged ‘spam’

Is it spam? InternetSeer.

Thursday, January 3rd, 2008

I get about 5-10 hits per day from a robot named

InternetSeer
with ip address: 65.36.241.79 and user agent: InternetSeer.com

This robot monitors the uptime of your website and emails you if it is down or slow. But how did it get my email? Internetseer like many other web monitoring sites receive their sites through third party sites.

I am sure they started monitoring when I signed up my site at a submit your site to 100 search engines site.

Regardless, this robot does not harm your site and removing it may cause an annoying abundance of emails telling you they cannot access your site. I tried blocking the ip address once and it came back 1 month later with a new ip address.

You can usually contact internetseer.com or any other web monitoring site and they will tell you how they obtained your site and how to unsubscribe.

del.icio.us Reddit Slashdot Digg Facebook Technorati Google StumbleUpon Windows Live Furl Netscape Yahoo BlinkList Bloglines Ask Newsvine Spurl Squidoo Fark Blogmarks Jeqq Sphere

Rate this Press Release


Is it spam? www.nachofoto.com

Saturday, December 29th, 2007

I receive numerous hits by a robot that only identifies itself as

www.nachofoto.com
with ip address: 216.218.135.114

As far as I can tell this website just harvests images providing no benefit to your website or blog. Plus the robot does not have a user agent.

I blocked this ip address from accessing my site and you should do the same.

del.icio.us Reddit Slashdot Digg Facebook Technorati Google StumbleUpon Windows Live Furl Netscape Yahoo BlinkList Bloglines Ask Newsvine Spurl Squidoo Fark Blogmarks Jeqq Sphere

Rate this Press Release


Is it spam? Snapbot/1.0

Saturday, December 29th, 2007

Lately I have been receiving hits by a robot named Snapbot/1.o. In my referral logs it refers to itself as

ROBOT
with ip: 38.98.19.67 and user agent: Mozilla/5.0 (SnapPreviewBot) Gecko/20061206 Firefox/1.5.0.9

or as

SPAM
with ip: 38.98.19.68 and user agent: Snapbot/1.0 (Snap Shots, +http://www.snap.com)

If you check out snap’s website, they state that the robot is used to show thumbnails of your site to users that have their browser plug-in installed. In addition, frequent hits could also be their robot snapbot/1.o indexing your site for future thumb views.

So if you are receiving traffic from ip address range: 38.98.19.66 to 38.98.19.126 they are from snap.com and appear harmless.

del.icio.us Reddit Slashdot Digg Facebook Technorati Google StumbleUpon Windows Live Furl Netscape Yahoo BlinkList Bloglines Ask Newsvine Spurl Squidoo Fark Blogmarks Jeqq Sphere

Rate this Press Release